Are you going to be a wimp today or strong??

Image_thumb.jpg

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?’” – Peter Maher

I woke up this morning to the sound of rain.  My plans had been to run outside on the Greenway today; different scenery along a beautiful trail that always makes me appreciate nature. My goal this week was to log seven miles for my long run.  Needless to say I had to make a quick change of plans and that the rain outside meant a LONG treadmill run inside.  I really wanted to roll back over, pull up the covers and go back to sleep.   I couldn’t imagine running 7 miles on a treadmill but I knew if I didn’t run, I would be disappointed in my self.   I decided to set a goal of doing anywhere from 4 to 6 miles on the treadmill at whatever pace felt comfortable.  I found some great music on my ipod and divided my run up into 10 minutes segments.  In my mind I took each segment to challenge myself to run my best and try to push a little harder at the end. The closer I got to seven miles, I knew I couldn’t stop and that I would make my goal. I finished with 7.2 miles and averaged a pace of 8:30. I was strong today, so glad I made the right choice to get out of bed, because rolling over would have changed everything!

Leave a Reply

