Is Your Coffee A Healthy Brew?

I have to admit I’m a coffee addict. What do I love about coffee? I LOVE the sensory aspect of it;  the sound of the coffee brewing, the aroma, the steam rising from my cup, and the very first sip. It’s comforting to me; like a warm blanket on a cold day. Since I drink so much coffee, I wanted to make sure that what I was drinking was a good quality, healthy brew. I also found interesting research regarding paper filters.

coffeeinchinacup

I typically start my day with two to three cups. I have to admit, I would drink more throughout the day, but alas, caffeine affects my sleep. Also, did you know that coffee brewed without a paper filter can raise your cholesterol? I found that interesting since I discovered my cholesterol was elevated during my last physical. This really surprised me since I’ve always considered myself to be healthy. I eat clean and I teach 7-8 fitness classes per week. Therefore, since I’ve been using a reusable filter, I’ve decided to switch to paper and am curious to see what my levels will be during my follow-up visit.

Four Tips For A Healthier Brew:  Health benefits of coffee

  • Choose Organic-  Authority Nutrition points out that “coffee beans tend to be heavily sprayed with pesticides, herbicides and various toxins that were never intended for human consumption. For this reason, I recommend that you choose organic coffee whenever possible”.
  • Avoid Artificial Sweeteners- Most everyone has heard of the harmful effects of artificial sweeteners.  Dr. Mercola, a well-known osteopathic and alternative medicine physician, points out that “research over the last 30 years—including several large scale prospective cohort studies—have shown that artificial sweeteners stimulate appetite, increase cravings for carbs, and produce a variety of metabolic dysfunctions that promote fat storage and weight gain.” Truthfully, once you get in the habit of drinking coffee black or with cream, you will actually be able to enjoy the true flavor of the brew rather than the additives.
  • Use Milk or REAL Cream–  Have you looked at the ingredients in most coffee creamers? Believe it or not, many of them contain partially hydrogenated oils, “ a trans fat”.  The FDA reports that “eating trans fat raises the level of low-density lipoprotein (LDL or “bad”) cholesterol in the blood.  An elevated LDL blood cholesterol level can increase your risk of developing cardiovascular disease” Try coconut milk or almond milk instead. 

Ingredients-of-store-bought-coffee-creamer

Brew Your Coffee With A Paper Filterhealthyeating.sfgate.com  reports that a 2007 Science Daily article suggests that “drinking five cups of unfiltered coffee every day for four weeks could increase cholesterol levels by 6 to 8 percent” Furthermore,  coffee filters trap  substances in coffee called diterpenes. These  substances escape into your  coffee grounds floating in the coffee or oily droplets floating on the surface. These  compounds are known to  block a cholesterol-regulating receptor in the intestines. Additionally, Harvard Health Publications reports that paper filters are more effective at eliminating diterpenes than permanent or cloth filters. 

So start your morning by brewing a healthier cup of coffee. And you may want to consider these add-ins to try something new Dessert Coffee Flavor Add-Ins. Enjoy your day!

 

7 thoughts on “Is Your Coffee A Healthy Brew?

  1. Pingback: Is Your Coffee A Healthy Brew? | FITNESS FOR LIFE

Leave a Reply

