Fitone

Health and Fitness information to improve your quality of life

Caffeine Healthy Addiction?

Leave a comment

I’m writing this at 4 am due to the fact that I’ve been up most of the night with a “splitting headache.”  I’ve had a headache the last day and a half that wouldn’t go away even with my occasional ibuprofen.

As a fitness professional, I hate taking medicine and use it as a last resort. I’m healthy, eat a clean diet, and get plenty of exercise.  At age 57, I take no medication and feel better than I did in my thirties.

16584986_401649680168459_8566649250711076864_n

I developed my headache a day and a half ago and attributed it to allergies.  I was occasionally sneezing and had “teary eyes.”  However, after taking ibuprofen at bedtime and applying ice packs to my forehead, I still had no relief.  I woke up several times during the night and finally at 3:45 am decided to get up.

I have 3 fitness classes to teach this morning and it wasn’t going to be pretty; simply getting up and moving around made me feel like I  had a horrible hangover.  So how was I going to teach?  I decided I’d try to drink some water and eat something to see if that would make a difference.  I had already increased my water intake when my head started throbbing;  I know dehydration can cause headaches.  But that didn’t seem to help.  I walked downstairs to make some “bulletproof coffee” which is simply coffee with grass-fed butter and coconut oil hoping that would help.

20170606_065355_HDR

I have two vices coffee and peanut butter!  I mean that’s not bad….right??

 

peanutbutterspongebob

Peanut butter is a good source of protein and healthy fats. Here are some additional benefits of consumption: Health Benefits of Peanut Butter.  Be careful and buy a healthy brand though; you can find more info in my article: Are There Dangers Lurking In Your Peanut Butter?

However my number one vice, coffee contains antioxidants and caffeine to help boost physical performance and muscle recovery.

Health benefits of coffee

Therefore my two little vices can’t be that bad- right??  Unless it’s caffeine withdrawal.

I tend to get into trouble when I get off schedule and that’s what happened to bring about my misery.  I suddenly remembered as I walked into the kitchen at 4 am and  gazed at my coffee maker that I drank instant decaf coffee the morning this all started.  Which meant NO CAFFEINE FOR AN ENTIRE DAY AND A HALF!  BINGO- I had a headache that only caffeine would cure.  Sure enough after drinking my first cup I began to feel better.  This made me realize the need to cut down on my caffeine consumption.   The article –Caffeine Withdrawal Symptoms
points out:

Caffeine withdrawal is no laughing matter and can be very debilitating for those who are suddenly without caffeine.

This made me realize how truly tormenting it must be to have an addiction to something more serious such as alcohol, cigarettes, painkillers, cocaine, etc.  I mean even with my simple caffeine withdrawal headache, I was desperate to get some caffeine to see if it would make me feel better. A good but painful lesson. Now hopefully I can get more sleep and be refreshed to teach my classes. Wish me luck 🙂

ironbody

 

Author: @fitone

Health and Fitness Expert, Certified Les Mills instructor, Yoga, Boot Camp, weight training and Pilates instructor

Leave a Reply

